Topsy Turvy Garden Week 3

Standard

So this week, I changed a lot of things and put a lot of sweat equity into this garden.  I Deconstructed some pallets and built a garden box that I sat on cinder blocks.  This box is 4×4 with 4 holes on each side, letting 16 plants grow topsy turvy and actually having my herbs up top.  I did a lot of research, and realized that my pepper plants were too close together and not getting enough nutrients.  This was not helpful and the leaves were turning yellow, not a good sign.  Not all of the plants did well in the replanting process, hopefully they come back bigger and stronger with the more room for them to grow.  To get this idea I took a few other ideas here and here  and put them together, with the basics of gardening.  Technically each plant should be planted 12in apart, in most vertical gardens they are much closer and or not tall enough.  Hopefully this project works out well, because it was not the easiest thing to build. It might of taken a lot of work, but it was fairly cheap, used organic gardening soil (really need to work on a compost bin next!) and plants, other than that everything was free.
IMG_7840plants growing out the sides and herbs on top.jalapeno plants
The coolest part was all the different tools I got to use, and learn how to use properly.  It is pretty awesome that my parents have about every tool imaginable!  I’ll do a better post of how I put the plant box together later. I’m leaving the tomato plants where they are right now, because they are growing big and I actually got my first tomato on the plant so far! Very excited about this.  My sister thinks I’m crazy because I go out there everyday looking to see how fast and well its growing.  It is very cool thing to watch plants grow, especially since it is food I’m going to get to eat.
IMG_7833

IMG_7835IMG_7834
I still have a few more plants to plant, hot peppers, habanero, jalapeno, more banana peppers (my favorite, and serrano peppers.
IMG_7830you can see little peppers growing!IMG_7829
I found this awesome tutorial on how to turn a pallet into a Vertical Garden, I thought about doing that but still don’t know if they are going to have enough room for the roots.  Working out the numbers and maybe we’ll have a tutorial on our hands! I’d really love to cheat and just use a hanging shoe rack like show here.  I just don’t think it would be as producing as it could be with the right about of room for the roots. Right now its raining, so I’ll take pix as soon as I can.  Sorry there aren’t more pix of me building the box, but I was worried about all the dust around my camera.  Yes I’m a baby!

Leave a Reply

