Super Kids – Derby Race

Standard
Super Kids – Derby Race

Yesterday was probably one of the best and coolest day I’ve had in a really long time.  I’ve know that my parents have been involved in this charity for a long time, but have never been able to go.  Since being unemployed (yes it sucks) I’ve been spending a lot more time helping them out with their endeavors and being able to do stuff with them.

The Super Kids Classic is a race that is held at the National Derby Race Course in Akron. They are a bunch of volunteers that get together fix or even make new derby cars for two kids.  They have drivers who are younger kids 8-15 ish sorry don’t have all the details in front of me.  The passenger is a kid with special needs.  These kids get to ride down the hill a few times with the drivers.  They are so excited and enjoy this so much.  It was such an awesome experience to be at the bottom of the hill where they finish and see how excited they were.

My parents are part of the group that runs to bottom of the hill.  It is a bunch of bikers who are doing such a good thing to make sure the cars stop and help get the kids out of the car.  They are there to hug them, clap for them, tell them what a great job they did, and to make sure if they are scared someone is there to hold their hands.  This is an amazing site to see, a bunch of bikers smiling and picking up kids that are usually in wheelchairs or who normally wouldn’t be considered for an activity like this.  What is even cooler, is that some of the kids will actually get to run in the National Race on July 20th.  The top three finishers will get to run their race in the national spotlight.  What an amazing experience.

I actually got to help my dad work on the cars, and meet all of the people behind the scenes.  These people are wonderful, most of them have kids that actually participate in the race or have children that are drivers.  They spend several full weekends and lots of money or connections to make sure this race get put on.  These people aren’t the ones who donate all the money, most of them have normal everyday jobs, some of them didn’t even have jobs or were laid off at the time. But they put all they can into making sure this race goes perfectly.

Overall it was an amazing day, I got to meet some spectacular kids who have lived longer than they were supposed to or have some of the biggest personalities I’ve ever met.  I was kind of sad, that such an amazing cause gets such little press, and that there were no people in the stands cheering for them.  I love watching this, and really am going to work harder on making every effort to get people there.  It is free to watch, which kills me that we couldn’t get more supporters.

I will do more for this event, because it definitely becoming more and more of something that gets to me.  If anyone wants to help or needs more information please e-mail me MandaMakesBlog@Gmail.com.  I’d love all the help I can get.

Today we are going to celebrate, we are having a picnic to celebrate those kids and all of the volunteers.  I even got to help with this, I used my coupons to get the hot dogs, relish, and a few other things for a lot cheaper.

This has been such a great weekend.

I do have picture, but they are on someone else’s camera.  I’ll post them as soon as I get to go through them.

Hope your weekend was a great as mine, and try to do something nice for someone else today!

Leave a Reply

